Believing unconditionally

Posted: February 26, 2017 in Inspiration, Motivation and engagement, Uncategorized

kidlearning

“All kids need is a little help, a little hope and somebody who believes in them.”
— Magic Johnson

As a student success teacher, my mandate was to help students at risk of not succeeding find the strategies and supports to be able to pass their classes and graduate. In this role, I would often have interesting conversations with my colleagues about students, their potential, their work habits and their behaviour.  One response that I heard very often was: “This student just can’t pass my class.” Or “This student just can’t cut it.” And I, in hindsight, had much to learn, because I would simply agree with them and sometimes even try to find other solutions for those students; a change in timetable, a creative solution to have a more 1 on 1 option with another educator or anything else to remove the “so-called problem”. I sat there, lacked belief in the kids, gave up on their potential and robbed them of their future success.

As I sit here writing this, although I thought I was a good educator, I feel like I let kids down.  Recently, through a friend on social media, I had a reminder that kids can do anything and that it is educators who are their biggest inhibitors. This belief in limits, in predetermined potential and classroom privilege has been hindering students’ dreams for many years.  I once said, when a student doesn’t succeed, it is simply I who failed, who did not have the knowledge to help him do so.  I don’t think I ever believed so much in these words until now.

When a teacher tells me that a student cannot pass his class, they are often putting the entire responsibility on the student. If the student played by the rules and did as teacher said, they should be able to pass like anyone else. Basically, the teacher does everything right, and it is up to the student to pull his own weight. Although I am not downplaying the importance of collaboration in learning and that the student has a key role in his success. However we, as educators, must step up to the plate and also take ownership for the learning.  As @casas_jimmy put it so eloquently, “a teacher who says who says ‘I have to look at myself when a student fails’ is the type of teacher you want working in your building.”

Our current education system is flawed. We had heard time and time again, how our schools were created for a certain need in the age of the industrial revolution. Therefore, it is time for educators to stand up and use their voice to bring about the necessary transformation. Let’s make education about our kids: about their hopes, their needs and their future. We don’t need schools to fit the needs of teachers. We need to support and nurture our teachers to help create environments that fit the needs of our students.

So as I reflect on my past mistakes as an educator, I can’t help but feel some feelings of guilt. Was I responsible for robbing the dreams and hopes of certain kids by limiting their potential and believing that they just can’t cut it? Maybe I have, and that is a difficult pill to swallow for a person. But I can make this promise: from this day forward, I will believe in the unlimited potential of all kids. I believe that given the right, personalized, supports, all kids can succeed and at high levels. I may not be able to correct all the wrongs of the past, but I can try to ensure that they are surely not repeating again. Kids today have enough obstacles and challenges to worry about and I do not need to add any for them. In the end: I work, I believe and I lead…because #kidsdeserveit.

 

Leave a Reply

